September 17, 2009

Indian squad for ICC champions Trophy and Sachin Tendulkar’s 17000 runs milestone

India has announced a 15 man squad for the ICC champions Trophy where Virender Sehwag is not named. Although it was know to all that he is suffering from shoulder injury problem from Twenty20 world cup, he could be if he comes round his problem. In the recent tour of Sri Lanka when Sachin Tendulkar scored a 70 runs average. After a six month breaks he has returned his form at the age of 36 when India is fighting for the top ranked ODI team as a third nation.

The 36 years old Sachin Tendulkar is just 106 runs from 17000 milestones. As he has been drawn his name in the 15 man squad for South Africa showing a team best performance in the recent triangular Compaq cup 2009 tournament. He as added 200 more runs from the tour adding a hundred in his career.

I explained in the previous article that the changing batting order brought a big success during the tour of Sri Lanka when Rahul Dravid was promoted as an opening batsman along the Sachin Tendulkar. And, I also mentioned that they both will be turning point of India of the upcoming Champions Trophy 2009. anyway I am not taking credit for it just it seems to me and explained even a kids could understand it easily.

I am a big fan of Sachin Tendulka and will want to see him in Indian squad. At the same time I hope that he will be the highest total runs holds of the world of 20,000 runs in One-day formatted cricket. Well all know the Cricket is a game where fitness is the most important issue for the players.

It is sure that Virender Sehwag returns would boot Indian team most instead he will lead Uttar Pradesh in the Ranji Trophy finals. Gautam Gambhir who came back home keeping unfinished the last tour, will came back to the squad in ICC Champions Trophy.

Indian Squad:

MS Dhoni (Captain/wicketkeeper), Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Rahul Dravid, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, RP Singh, Ashish Nehra, Dinesh Karthik, Praveen Kumar, Amit Mishra and Abhishek Nayar.