May 5, 2009

Indian Squad for Twenty20 World Cup Cricket 2009

With some new faces and old, India will fly away, aim is to England. Targeting Twenty20 World Cup 2009 Indian selection committee has announced a squad with 15 crickets. In the declared squad, they included five batsmen, five pacers, two spinners, two all-rounders and a wicket-keeper in Dhoni. The team will be leaded under MS Dhoni’s captaincy as usual. The IPL T20 has made easy to select the name of the men easily. Some of the players have been kept out form the squads who played important role to win the title Twenty20 World Cup Cricket 2007 Champions.


Team: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag (vice-captain), Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan, Rohit Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Praveen Kumar, Rudra Pratap Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Pragyan Ojha and Irfan Pathan.


Among the five pacers Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Praveen Kumar is new when Sreesanth, Ajit Agarker and Joginder Sharma kept for this season. Suresh Raina who is playing in IPL well and that is why he has been selected.


Robin Uthappa has been considered as a hard-hitting batsman on the side of Indian Twenty20 formatted cricket tournament. He played important role in the first season but this season he has been omitted from the 15 men squad. May be the main cause of his omission, beside batting he plays a role as a wicket keeper.