July 22, 2008

Sri Lankan squad for the First Test with new but reliable players

Sri Lanka selection board has declared their squad for 1st Test alongside India in a good combination. Beside six batsmen it also announced four bowlers the total number of 14 members. We cannot see the mane of all-time best player Sanath Jayasuriya in the Test Squad because of his retirement form Test matches. The name that is coming in media with a bold and big word is Ajantha Mendis whose magic movement beat India in the Asia Cup Final.

Squad for first Test: Michael Vandort, Malinda Warnapura, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Silva, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Prasanna Jayawardene (wk), Chaminda Vaas, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Thilan Thushara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Chamara Kapugedera

Rahul Dravid, the ex-captain of Indian Cricket team, thinks that India should take all the Sri Lankan players in great observation because not only Ajantha Mendis but also others blowers are not less aggressive for Indian batsmen.

Although there are some new face in the host Sri Lankan declared 14 members team but have a big confidence, similar for the bowlers. I have quoted the lines of positive side of them.

While batsmen Michael Vandort, Malinda Warnapura, Thilan Samaraweera and wicketkeeper Prasanna Jayawardene have sealed their spots, there could be a tussle for the No.6 slot between Chamara Silva and Tillakaratne Dilshan. Silva was impressive in the tour game, compiling half-centuries in both innings. Chamara Kapugedera, another middle-order batsman, makes a comeback to the Test squad after an impressive last few months with the one-day team.

India still does not declare the name of the men who will go to the SSC ground for the first Test against Sri Lanka in the 2008 season. We all saw some of the players who suppose to be out of the squad. I think after few hours we all could know the name of the players in the declared squad.