April 19, 2008

Deccan Chargers On 20 April match in DLF IPL

In the inaugural Indian Premier League (IPL) V.V.S. Laxman led Deccan Chargers is going to represent the Hyderabad city. Thoghugh there is not icon players in the Deccan Chargers but the figure of the players are good to look at. Robin Singh, the former Indian player has been appointed as a coach for the team and the owner of the team is Deccan Chronicle, an English language Newspaper. Deccan Chronicle acquired the ownership for $107 million on January 24, 2008 and Group M later picked a 20% stake.

The Deccan Chargers will face off the first match against Kolkata Knight Riders at Eden Gardens at 16:00 local, 10:30 GMT on April 20, 2008. The Deccan Chargers of Hyderabad is owned by media house Deccan Chronicle. Local favourite and captain of the team VVS Laxman gave up the chance to be Icon Player to help his team have more to bid with. The gesture did pay off and the Chargers added the likes of Adam Gilchrist, Andrew Symonds, Scott Styris, Herschelle Gibbs and Shahid Afridi to its roster. RP Singh, Chaminda Vaas and Nuwan Zoysa were also the pick of the bowlers. Exciting young prospects like Rohit Sharma, Venugopal Rao, Arjun Yadav and Sarveesh Kumar are also part of the squad.

Here are some stamped players in the Deccan Chargers such as Herschelle Gibbs, Adam Gilchrist, Shahid Afridi, Rohit Sharma, RP Singh, Scott Styris, Andrew Symonds, Chaminda Vaas. Among them Adam Gilchrist and Shahid Afridi are well known as hard hitter batsmen. Andrew Symonds and Scott Styris are the top class all-rounder too. There is nothing new to introduce newly about Chaminda Vas and RP Singh who are the top class bowlers. In the Twenty20 World Cup Championship RP Singh’s performances was mind bowling.