August 25, 2010

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011: warm-ups schedule

Pakistan was on the list of the hosts of the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup. It has been omitted because of security reason. And all the scheduled matches are planed to be schedule in India and Bangladesh. According to the announced schedule by International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday Pakistan will play their matches in Sri Lankan cricket grounds.

Pakistan, 1992 Cricket World Cup Champions will take on Bangladesh 15 February in Dhaka and along with England and both matches are slated as day-night games.

The inaugural ceremony of the World Cup will be taken place between Bangladesh and co-hosts India on 19 February and the final match on April 2, 2011 at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

All the matches of Pakistan will take place in Sri Lanka and the first encounter will be played against Kenya at Hambantota on Feb 23.

Indian men will stat their World Cup campaign with the match Bangladesh but they will meet to the strong oppositions New Zealand and Australia during warm-up match.

The 1999 World Cup Champions will play two matches too. Their position will be Netherlands and West Indies.

World Cup warm-ups schedule:

Feb 12: New Zealand v Ireland (Nagpur, D/N).
Feb 12: Zimbabwe v South Africa (Chennai, D/N).
Feb 12: West Indies v Kenya (Colombo).
Feb 12: Sri Lanka v Netherlands (Pallekele).
Feb 12: Bangladesh v Canada (Chittagong, D/N).
Feb 13: India v Australia (Bangalore, D/N).
Feb 15: Australia v South Africa (Bangalore, D/N).
Feb 15: Ireland v Zimbabwe (Nagpur).
Feb 15: Kenya v Netherlands (Pallekele).
Feb 15: Bangladesh v Pakistan (Dhaka, D/N).
Feb 16: India v New Zealand (Chennai).
Feb 16: Sri Lanka v West Indies (Colombo).
Feb 16: England v Canada (Dhaka).
Feb 18: England v Pakistan (Dhaka, D/N).