July 29, 2009

Sri Lankan ODI Squad without Chaminda Vaas

I personally am a big fan of Chaminda Vaas. Recently, he has retired for the Test match but is interest to go on his career in ODI cricket instead the sectors has recalled Lasith Malinga for the ODI series. To take on Pakistan in the home series he has been kept out for the declared 15 men squad. 37 years old, record touching bowler M Muralitharan has been drawn his name in the squad. Thilan Samaraweera, the middle order batsman also been identified to make the middle order strong.

There are some changes in the declared squad than the team men who visited Pakistan in January this year. Jehan Mubarak, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Farveez Maharoof, Dilhara Fernando have been out from the team but three new names have been added here.

Sri Lanka visited Pakistan on January and won the series 2-1 when Tillakaratne Dilshan scored most runs of 255 and Muttiah Muralitharan picket up 6 wickets and the highest wicket taker on the side of Lankan team.

Sri Lanka Squad for ODI series:

Kumar Sangakkara (Capt), Muttiah Muralitharan, Sanath Jayasuriya, Mahela Jayawardene, Upul Tharanga, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapugedera, Thilina Kandamby, Angelo Mathews, Isuru Udana, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga, Thilan Thushara, Nuwan Kulasekera, Malinga Bandara.