June 11, 2009

ICC World Twenty20 2010 in West Indies but Qualifiers UAE

With the inaugural world championship that was held in South Africa and the ICC authority decided to organize after second year. The 20-20 formatted cricket got huge popularity and the second season scheduled to be held in England and the second season tournament is passing its Super Eight round where most of the test playing countries are taking part except Bangladesh and World Champions Australia. The third festival has been scheduled in 2010 and West Indies will be the host country.


ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat said: "Although the World Twenty20 is to be held every second year, we decided to hold two on the trot to set the calendar right and ensure a better spread of tournaments."

Nine test playing counties will be qualified directly but other three teams will take part by playing the qualifying round matches which scheduled to be hosted by UAE. ICC has changed it decision because of 50-over-a-side Champions Trophy that was scheduled to be held in Pakistan but postponed for the security reason. To maintain the delayed Champions Trophy festival and not to schedule two international tournaments ICC decided it.