April 17, 2009

When IPL 2009 opening ceremony will be held? On 17 April 2009?

In opening day of IPL 2009 two matches and opening ceremony will be held in Cape Town. The Newlands Stadium is well decorated to celebrate the IPL cricket tournaments. After the opening and introduction assembly, Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings the meet in the encounter of the Twenty20 formatted most expecting cricket tournaments. The he second IPL match will be kicked off between Bangalore Royal Challengers and Rajasthan Royals at the same ground.


This year IPL will be 15 minutes longer than the previous times. Previously, the Twenty20 cricket was scheduled for 3 hour but in the second season of the IPL 2009, t have brought changes and extended it 15 minutes. Now question is; what will happen in this extended time? I think it is a tactics to get extra revenues from the Advertisers. 


The inaugural IPL’s opening ceremony was celebrated in the Bangalore and the match was between Bangalore Royal Challengers v Kolkata Knight Riders. It was totally different opening ceremony and all the fans enjoyed the match especially for batting and huge runs. Kolkata Knight Riders scored 222 runs for 3wickets but the opposition had to sack their innings just earned 82 runs from 15.1 over out of 20.


This year the opening match will be commence on between IPL Mumbai vs IPL Chennai and the team will be leaded star batsman of India ever Sachin Tendulkar and the most successful captain at this moment MS Dhoni.


Although the opening match will be stared from 18 April 2009 but the opening ceremony will be held today. No doubt that the stadium will be full with a lot of bollywood stars such as Shah Rukh Khan, Preity Zinta and Shilpa Shetty along with the cricketers


Winning Bidder

Regional Broadcast Rights

Sony/World Sport Group

Global Rights, India

Network Ten

Free-to-air television in Australia

Sky Network Television

New Zealand broadcast rights

Setanta Sports

United Kingdom and Ireland on a subscription basis

Arab Digital Distribution

Middle East broadcast rights on ADD's ART Prime Sport channel. Will broadcast to United Arab EmiratesBahrainIranIraqJordanKuwait, LebanonOmanQatarPalestineSaudi ArabiaSyriaTurkeyAlgeria, MoroccoTunisiaEgyptSudanLibya and Nigeria.

Willow TV

Rights to distribute on television, radio, broadband and Internet, for the IPL in North America.

Super Sport

South Africa and Nigeria broadcast rights

GEO Super

Pakistan broadcast rights

Asian Television Network

Canadian broadcast rights. Aired on ATN's CBN & ATN Cricket Plus channels on a subscription basis. Aired on XM Radio's ATN-Asian Radio as well.


Here are the lists of the tv channels which will broadcast the whole matches including opening ceremony.