April 18, 2009

1st match Highlights: Chennai Super Kings v Mumbai Indians IPL 2009 season 2

The toss of the first match of season 2 IPL had finished before the IPL commissioner Lalit Modi declared IPL 2009. The pitch was very hard according the pitch experts Sunil Gavaskar. Mumbai Indians was send to bat first after winning the toss Chennai Super Kings captain MS Dhoni took the decision. The runner-up of the IPL 2008 CSK beat to Mumbai Indians in its first match and got tremble.


Fall of wickets1-39 (Jayasuriya, 5.5 ov), 2-82 (Dhawan, 11.4 ov), 3-95 (Duminy, 13.3 ov), 4-102 (Bravo, 14.3 ov), 5-148 (Nayar, 18.1 ov), 6-157 (Harbhajan Singh, 18.6 ov), 7-161 (Khan, 19.5 ov)


May be this is the first match for Sachin Tendulkar who kept unbeaten in T20 tournament and scored 59 runs from 45 balls. The other star batsman ST Jayasuriya scored 26           but he second highest runs holder was AM Nayar 35 runs and got he maximum six awards. As a result Mumbai Indians score 166 runs from 20 over just losing 7 wickets and Sachin Tendulkar got the Man of the match awards and star of the tournament. SL Malinga took 3 wickets on the side of Mumbai Indians by 15 runs Sanath Jayasuriya picket up 2 wickets. As a result MI scores 166 runs. Sachin Tendulkar has archived the first Man of the Match award of the IPL T20 season 2.


Chennai Super Kings innings could not start well its games because losing more wickets earlier. Andrew Flintoff and Hayden took the lead but after losing the partner Flintoff he could not continue more times.

Fall of wickets1-0 (Patel, 0.2 ov), 2-18 (Raina, 2.5 ov), 3-70 (Flintoff, 9.5 ov), 4-89 (Hayden, 12.4 ov), 5-101 (Oram, 14.3 ov), 6-109 (Badrinath, 15.3 ov), 7-144 (Dhoni, 19.4 ov)