April 17, 2008

The Kolkata Knight Riders squad for IPL

Kolkata Knight Riders is a team of Indian Premier League among the eight teams. Although Kolkata Knight Riders owners Shah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla Mehta and Jai Mehta acquired second lower prize by bid but they have spend more money to hire high quality batsmen and bowlers. It is an accurate decision of Shah Rukh Khan and his associate franchise.

Sourav Ganguly, the former captain of the Indian cricket team is the icon player and will lead the Kolkata franchise. Also in the team is allrounder Chris Gayle and wicket keeper batsman Brendon McCullum. The most successful captain in world cricket Ricky Ponting follows suit with a bowling attack including Shoaib Akhtar, Ishant Sharma, Umar Gul. Others include Ajit Agarkar, Murali Karthik and David Hussey.

Shahrukh, Juhi and Mehta got the franchise of the Kolkata Knight Riders for $75.09 million. It is the second lowest bid. But they did not show any hesitate to spend more money to appoint some best quality players. Here is the list of Kolkata Knight Riders squad below.

David Hussey, Ricky Ponting, Salman Butt, Akash Chopra, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohan Banerjee, Yashpal Singh, Debabrata Das, Sourav Ganguly (Captain), Tatenda Taibu, Wriddhiman Saha, Brendon McCullum, Chris Gayle, Ajit Agarkar, Mohammad Hafeez, Iqbal Abdulla, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Ishant Sharma, Shoaib Akhtar, Murali Kartik, Umar Gul, Siddarth Kaul, Ranadeb Bose and Sourashish Lahiri.

Still now I do not get any list about the players who will play the inaugural match against Bangalore Royal Challengers in Bangalore on 18 April.