October 6, 2009

Australia, the ICC Champions Trophy winner 2009

At last the ICC Champions Trophy title has been gone to the Australian door with their strong performances from the all sides batting bowling and fielding. This is the second time they have achieved crowned the second prestigious title of cricket. They again have proved that there is none equal in limited over cricket tournament. By achieving the Man of the Series award Australian skipper Ricky Ponting has showing green signal for his career. Three time World Cup winner leading the top position of the one-day rankings. Riding on Shane Watson’s unbeaten century, Australia could able to hold the title for next two years, a six wickets victory over neighboring country with 28 balls remaining.

Both the team lost two early wickets but Australia could gain. New Zealand’s 5 wickets within hundred runs including BB McCullum’s wicket in just for five five runs brought a big pressure in cricked wicket of SuperSport Park, Centurion on 5 October. To regain the pressure, NT Broom, JEC Franklin and KD Mills fought strongly against Australian bowlers, but Ricky Ponting’s direct hit to first stamps sent Mills home. At the end New Zealand could not achieved more than 200 for to make a strong runs-wall for the opposition batsmen.

It seems that the world champions will be demolished with the Kiwi bowlers. The lose two important wickets just for 6 runs but SR Watson’s 105 runs and CL White 62 brought the expected wins and Watson awarded the Man of the Match crown.

Australia was in very rough and tough position in the group stage round. It seems that they could be out from the tournament but win over Pakistan confirm to play in the semi-finals. I think it happened just for the previous series win in England.