July 8, 2008

ACC awarded Cricket Legends

Some of Asian Cricketers are awarded for their contribution in different sectors both ODIs and Tests, even two former crickets awarded "legendary cricketers" of Asia. This is the inaugural Asian cricket Council (ACC) awards.
Three Sri Lankans walked away with top awards with wicketkeeper-batsman Kumar Sangakkara receiving the best Asian Test batsman award while country-mates Muttiah Muralitharan and Farveez Maharoof named the best Asian Test and ODI bowlers respectively.
Former India and Pakistan captains Sunil Gavaskar and Imran Khan were also honoured with special awards named "legendary cricketers" of both countries.
The ACC also gave away a special award of "best administrator" to Colonel (retd) Nur Khan, former President of the Pakistan Cricket Board, who played a significant role in forming the ACC.
I think it is a very good initiative to inspire crackers and to appraise their contributing in their related fields.